Citizens from 35 countries eligible for e-visas

From February 1, 2019, citizens from 35 nations are eligible for e-visas under a Government's pilot program.

Citizens from 35 countries eligible for e-visas

The Government has recently issued Decree No.17/2019/ND-CPamending and supplementing some articles ofDecree 07/2017/ND-CP prescribing the order and procedures on pilot grant of e-visa to foreigners enteringViet Nam.

The new Decree lists 35 countries whose citizens could enter or exit Viet Nam with tourist e-visa and new border gates and sea ports where tourists can enter or exit with this type of visa.

These countries include Austria, Iceland, Belgium, Portugal, Bosnia andHerzegovina,Brazil, Qatar, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Macedonia, Micronesia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, San Marino, Cyprus, Switzerland, China (applicable for Hong Kong and Macao passport holders; not applicable to Chinese e-passport holders), Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Serbia and Slovenia.

Meanwhile, the added border gates are TayTrang (northern province ofDienBien), NaMeo (central province ofThanhHoa) and La Lay (central province ofQuangTri) and the two new sea ports are Duong Dong port (southern province ofKienGiang) and Chan May port (central province ofThuaThienHue).

With the new border gates and see ports, citizens from the aforesaid 35 countries can enter or exit with e-visa at 8 international airports, 16 border gates and 9 sea ports.

The Decree shall take effect within two years, fromFebruary 1, 2019 to February 1, 2021.

(Source: VGP)